MA Dissertation on Late Victorian pubs - stories please!

Old, disused, forgotten and converted pubs
Altp500

MA Dissertation on Late Victorian pubs - stories please!

Post by Altp500 »

Hello all,

I’m studying conservation of historic buildings at University of York, and my dissertation topic is on the importance of late Victorian / Edwardian pub interiors in Leeds. My three case studies are Whitelocks (renovated 1895), the Adelphi (built 1900-1901) and the Cardigan Arms ( built 1894-1895). I’ve found lots of old plans, some newspaper clippings, some slightly older descriptions, but no first hand accounts of what the pubs were like at the time they first opened/were renovated (between 1890-1914, just before WWI). I’m particularly interested in the role of women & others in pubs - I’ve found a decent amount of information on men but not much about anyone else!

I’d love to hear from anyone who has something to say, a story to tell, even if it’s gossip or ghost stories! It doesn’t have to be one of my three case studies, but if it is, then that would be excellent.

Please reply to this thread, or email me if you’d prefer: [email protected]

Thank you so much for taking time to read my post, and cheers!
Ashley

jma

Re: MA Dissertation on Late Victorian pubs - stories please!

Post by jma »

Welcome to Secret Leeds. I don't like to see something going unanswered but I can't help with anecdotes. I'm by no means the oldest contributor here but I'm 77. I reached the age to drink in a pub in 1962 so my reminiscences don't cover the period after WWII, never mind before WWI. My first visit to Whitelock's would have been in 1965. Apart from newspaper archives and the like, I don't know where to suggest a start. As a long shot, how about census records to get the family details of licensees and then trying to trace descendants.

Altp500

Post by Altp500 »

Thanks jma!

And thank you for the suggestions, some good ideas.