Documentary on Underground Tram System - HELP NEEDED

Railways, trams, buses, etc.
TerryAshby

Post by TerryAshby »

Hi everyone my names Terry Ashby I'm a student film maker who has a production team that has just been commissioned to make a documentary on the proposed plans for the tram system to go underground in Leeds in the 30's. It was reading this very forum that struck my interest in it and having contacted the council are talking to Neil Hudson of the Yorkshire Evening Post as he produced an article on the plans.We are looking for as much information as possible as well as archives for the research for the documentary. We are also looking for people who consider themselves knowledgeable in the subject to appear on camera for short interviews.It will be about a ten minute documentary and we want to explore the idea of whether it is felt such a system would be welcome today and this will have discussions with members of the public, MPs as well as historians and enthusiasts such as yourselves. The more people we can get on board in terms of research the better. The first part will be historical context showing plans and explaning the scheme then the middle will look at the alternative solutions such as the bus routes and then the 3rd part will focus on whether it is suitable and a welcome system today.Research is ongoing for the next fortnight and shooting is scheduled for the week before Easter .I hope some of you want to get involved and I am sure many of you have a wealth of information. Add to this thread with info, or email me and if you wish to appear on camera and feel you have a valid point for discussion email me and we can arrange a meeting.Great forum guys, very informative and very interesting.Cheers, tel

trophy

Post by trophy »

there is a bit of info in books LEEDS TRANSPORT VOLUMES 1 TO 4 by j soper published by leeds transport historical society.

chameleon
Site Admin

Post by chameleon »