Horsforth, Leeds

Houses, churches, monuments, graves, etc.
paulmoore

Post by paulmoore »

Hi All,As far as I am aware, there's a Roman pathway at the top of the small hill behind the Sport's Centre at Leeds Trinity University College in Horsforth. I was a student there from 1973 to 1976 and we often used to walk up there to take a look. The pathway is definitely there, but whether it is a Roman pathway is another question. Does anyone have any info on this?Interestingly, that part of Horsforth is know as Troy.All the best,Paul

jonleeds

Post by jonleeds »

Hi Paul, I know the track you mean that leads down from the back of Trinity and All Saints (now know as Leeds Trinity University College!) down to Lee Lane. I've heard that the rumours of the causey stone paved track being of Roman origin is a myth and its more likely that the track was paved as it was used as a route to transport coal from the old coal pits that were on Hunger Hills which is the top of the hill overlooking Horsforth at the rear of Trinity and All Saints college. The area of Horsforth known as Troy is actually a little furthur down past the end of Brownberrie Lane - the area between the Queens Pub and Horsforth Railway Station, not really a large area.Hope this helps answer your question!
Have your fun when you're alive - you won't get nothing when you die... have a good time all the time! - Chumbawumba!

And no matter how things end, you should always keep in touch with your friends - Dave Gedge

paulmoore

Post by paulmoore »