Trench Shelters Publication

Bunkers, shelters and other buildings
jayrosenthall

Trench Shelters Publication

Post by jayrosenthall »

Hi Everyone

My name is Jay, the reason for my post is that i am a graphic designer and i am looking to create a series of publications on 'Lost Leeds'

My first topic is Air Raid Shelters (parks and neighbourhoods preferably). I have browsed this site for a good 12 months and found some amazing information to help me with my own research. It really is fascinating. I recently found some info on the whereabouts and amount of these shelters that were erected for WW2 and am hoping people on here may have some more info or even images they would kindly donate (or sell) preferably donate.

I have attached some images for you to look at. Most of the trenches can be seen clearly on google earth and i'm hoping someone may be able to help with some issues.

1. whereabouts of others such as the neighbourhood ones. (ie dufton approach)
2. some aren't so clear on google (ie western flatts park , raglan road)

I know people have been inside some shelters and would love to have some images I can publish too

Thanking you all in advance
Attachments
2015-01-23 10.28.jpg
2015-01-23 10.28.jpg (342.99 KiB) Viewed 2203 times

jayrosenthall

Re: Trench Shelters Publication

Post by jayrosenthall »

neighbourhood shelters
Attachments
2015-01-23 10.29.jpg
2015-01-23 10.29.jpg (318.5 KiB) Viewed 2202 times

buffaloskinner

Post by buffaloskinner »

Hi Jay very interesting, your mother is not called Maureen is she?
Is this the end of the story ...or the beginning of a legend?

jayrosenthall

Post by jayrosenthall »

Hi, no i'm afraid not. Rosenthall isn't a very common name but definately not my family

Brunel

Post by Brunel »

Have a very good look at "SECRET LEEDS" on FLICKR: https://flic.kr/g/a1XED

You do not have to look far: https://flic.kr/p/qDzo3j

Or am I too late?

jayrosenthall

Post by jayrosenthall »

Hi,